Gluten-Free Protein Powder and Your Daily Health –

Gluten-Free Protein Powder and Your Daily Health

0 mins

Gluten-free protein powders make perfect nutritional sense for those with celiac disease, and those who just want to avoid gluten

Table of Contents

Gluten-Free Protein Powder and Your Daily Health

Since protein powders first appeared (in the 1950s!), people have been delighted with the comparative ease with which they can address their protein needs — and without necessarily having to develop an entire meal plan around the project. Gluten-free protein powders make these crazy-convenient protein supplements available to all. 

Whether you’re a fitness enthusiast, a hulking weight-trainer, or just want to be assured you are covering your nutritional bases, protein powders are an easy way of upping your protein content without too much fuss. 

Not all protein powders are the same, however. Some are vegan-friendly while others use whey, milk, soy or casein protein. Some are dairy-free while others contain lactose. Gluten-free plant-based protein powders can benefit you in your fitness regimen and everyday life, but the buyer needs to be aware of the crucial distinctions between different types of protein supplement, in order to make the best personal choices.

Gluten-Free Protein Powders

There are different plant-based sources for gluten-free protein powders. A gluten-free diet is essential for managing signs and symptoms of celiac disease, as well as other medical conditions associated with gluten. 

A gluten-free diet is also popular among people who haven't even been diagnosed with a gluten-related medical condition. It's estimated that 20% - 30% of the American population maintains a gluten-free diet

Why avoid gluten if you do not have a diagnosed gluten allergy such as celiac disease? The answer is -- a combination of gluten awareness, cultural gluten sensitivity, and the ease with which gluten may be completely struck from the diet in the modern era. Protein powder-based plant ingredients for a gluten-free protein supplement include soy, hemp, quinoa, chia seeds, and maca powder. Make sure to read the nutrition facts and ingredients list on your protein supplement of choice to make sure your protein powder contains absolutely no gluten. 

It is also advisable that you choose a protein powder that is high in protein, and also contains vitamins, minerals, and other nutrients essential for health and daily well-being. It's also critically important that you consider whether the protein powder is also vegan and non-GMO

Benefits of using gluten-free, plant-based protein powders

Plant-based protein powders offer a convenient way to supplement your diet with protein without whey or dairy ingredients. These considerations alone significantly address environmental and personal health issues long associated with the meat production industry.

Plant-based protein powders provide energy and other benefits of healthy protein consumption without the extra calories, animal fats, and trace additives found in cattle industry, dairy-based protein powders. 

Is there a right or wrong way to incorporate a gluten-free, plant-based protein powder into your diet or lifestyle? Nope. Your way is the right way. 

Start by determining your dietary needs, including how much protein you need, and how much vegan protein powder you want to consistently and sustainably make a part of your intentional, nutritional day.

Types of Plant-Based Proteins

Pea protein is an amazing option for protein-concerned vegans. Rich in dietary minerals such as iron, zinc, and BCAAs, pea protein is a great source of several essential nutrients. Pea protein is also low in carbs and cholesterol, making it a suitable choice for those who are interested in not adding to their existing cholesterol issues. 

Hemp protein is another plant-based winner in the powdered protein category. High in omega-3 fatty acids ( a curious concept if you are picturing a length of rope when we say "hemp") and magnesium, hemp protein is easy to digest and provides a healthy protein source for individuals with dietary restrictions. 

Pea protein is a good vegan protein option due to its high amino acid content and complete amino acid profile. 

Soy protein is a popular vegan protein choice whose beneficial properties include a high amino acid content. In addition to being a complete protein—one that contains all of those 9 essential amino acids the human body cant produce—soy protein contains proven antioxidants that can help support your body's ongoing battle against free radical damage.

Another popular vegan protein option, brown rice protein also contains natural antioxidants and provides a balanced source of amino acids, providing all but two of the 9 essentials; but threonine is not present in brown rice, and lysine is present but in a smaller quantity.

The key to plant-based protein, and plant-based protein powders, is to combine with other plant matter to reach the complete amino acid profile. For instance, brown rice contains abundant amounts of the amino acids arginine and valine. 

The plant kingdom possesses all the essential amino acids we require, and by combining edible plants we get the same complete protein profile we expect from meat -- because the "meat" (cows, pigs, and chickens, etc) gets its protein from plants

Tips for Choosing the Right Gluten Free, Plant Based Protein Powder

Check the ingredients list for gluten-containing ingredients! The protein sources for your gluten free product should be vegan and non-GMO. It's also advised you have an actual conversation with a nutritionist. Get the scoop on protein powders and their health benefits from an expert, someone who is trained and impassioned about the subject. 

When looking at ingredients and serving size, make sure the recommended amount works for you. Consider the serving size and extrapolate the product cost per serving to make sure the protein supplement in question is aligned with your personal economics. 

Protein powders should be seen as a supplement to your diet, not a replacement for whole, natural foods. A protein powder is only as helpful as its user is knowledgeable. 

Terms to Look Out For in a Plant-based, Gluten-free Protein Powder

Gluten-free: that is a very direct claim. Make extra sure it is an accurate claim in the product you're considering. Gluten is actually a protein found in wheat, barley, and other grains, and is responsible for the elasticity inherent in baking dough that allows it to be kneaded and shaped without breaking. Check for a "gluten-free" label or genuine, recognized certification that ensures the protein powder does not contain gluten.

To assure your protein of choice is plant-based, look for ingredients like pea protein, brown rice protein, and hemp protein as sources of plant-based protein. These protein sources are also high in dietary fiber and nutrients but low in calories, making them ideal support for weight management efforts. 

Non-GMO? Research the protein powder for non-GMO ingredients. A protein product that is very intentionally non-GMO will bear a recognized label of authority attesting to that. 

Research the protein powder for organic ingredients to guarantee that no synthetic fertilizers or pesticides were used in production. A USDA ORGANIC seal verifies that the product has met the stringent organic process standards of the US Department of Agriculture. 

By ensuring you're consuming a healthy, balanced diet filled with plant-based proteins and gluten-free foods, you can find a protein powder that fits your unique nutrition needs and appetite goals; one that can really support your daily fitness and personal energy goals.

Benefits of Plant Protein in a Gluten-Free protein powder

Plant-based protein is a terrific source of essential amino acids, and plant proteins are easier to digest, contain natural fiber from the plant kingdom, and burn cleaner than animal proteins. This makes them a good choice for people with digestive issues, such as gluten sensitivity or lactose intolerance. 

Plant-based proteins also tend to be lower in calories and fat than animal proteins, so that eating protein from plants can support your weight management efforts. Plant-based protein is also free of cholesterol, hormones, and antibiotics. This makes it a healthier option for those with ethical concerns about the use of these substances. 

Significantly, animal-based protein powders have been found to be some of the most destructive foods in terms of their environmental impact. The dairy and meat industry is a major contributor to greenhouse gas emissions, water pollution, and deforestation. 

Plant-based protein powder is a sustainable and eco-friendly way to fuel your body without harming the planet. It’s also naturally packed with nutrients that are essential for health, vitality, and daily energy. Plant-based proteins have a variety of flavors and textures that make them a versatile addition to your diet. KOS Naturals in particular has garnered a reputation for pushing their flavor labs to produce delicious and unexpected flavors in their plant-based protein offerings. 

Plant-based protein supplements are easy to find and affordable, making them an excellent alternative to meat in terms of nutrition, taste, affordability -- and longer term ecological considerations. 

Tips on How To Use Gluten Free Plant Based Protein Powder

There are many ways to incorporate gluten-free plant-based protein powder into your diet. One way is as an augment to flour in baking. This adds a protein boost to your flour-based baked meals and can help you feel fuller and healthier due to the presence of natural plant fiber in the dough.

You can also use gluten free plant-based protein powder as a substitute for whey protein powder in smoothies and gluten-free protein shakes. Heck, blend it with nut butters or yogurt for a quick snack. Plant-based protein supplements offer many health benefits AND flavor benefits. Give them a try. Healthy, tasty, easy to use -- what could be better? 

You and Your Gluten Free Life

Gluten-free and plant-based protein powders are an exemplary way to meet your daily protein needs without the risk of digestive (and other) issues that come with dairy, animal protein, and gluten consumption. 

They're also a tasty way to supplement your diet with vitamins and minerals. All in one eminently digestible product. Gluten free meal replacement shakes? You betcha … as long as you largely maintain a diet of whole foods, too. Keep your body fueled with nature’s edible bounty. Gluten-free protein powder is a workout tool/convenient addition to a whole food lifestyle. 

Plant-based protein powders vary widely in terms of texture, ingredients, nutritional value, and -- oh yeah -- FLAVOR. Whether you're vegan, vegetarian, or just looking for a convenient way to get more protein in your diet, there's a gluten-free powder that's right for you.

If you like ground-breaking flavors that defeat expectations and are an actual delight to your senses, you can't do better than KOS Naturals. Gluten free protein drinks don’t taste any better, honestly. 

When choosing a plant-based protein powder, always scrutinize the nutrition facts panel on the packaging. This will give you an idea of how much protein is present per serving, AND the % of Daily Value for each nutrient. Also consider the ingredients list, as some powders may contain artificial sweeteners or other additives that aren't a good addition to your dietary regimen. 

If you're gluten-free or dairy-free and looking for a tasty vegan gluten and dairy free protein powder, look no further. Plant-based protein powders are a great choice -- and the end of your feverish search for the right gluten-free protein powder for you. 


Are there any potential risks associated with gluten-free protein powder?

While gluten-free protein powders can be beneficial for people with gluten sensitivities, they may not provide enough dietary fiber and essential vitamins and minerals to keep your body healthy. 

Make sure the fiber content in your gluten-free protein powder is fully provided for in the total list of ingredients. 

If you are considering gluten-free protein powder as part of your diet, speak to your doctor or dietitian first to make sure that's the right choice for you given your individual needs and requirements. After all, this is only about your health and wellness, right? 

How can I use gluten-free, plant-based protein powder in my daily diet?

Gluten-free protein powders are a great way to add protein to your diet. Here's how you can use them in your daily diet: 

1. Smoothies – Protein powder can be added to smoothies of your own brilliant invention. Add fruits and other ingredients to make a delicious and totally unique drink. 

2. Oatmeal – Protein powder sprinkled into oatmeal increases its nutrient content and makes it even more filling. You no longer have to throw steak into the blender to make your Protein Oatmeal Delight® 

3. Toppings – Use protein powder as a topping for yogurt, or any other dish that you like. 

4. Baked Goods – Protein powder can be added to baked goods like muffins, pancakes, breads. A stack of protein pancakes? Oh yeah! 

5. Post-Workout Shake or Snack – You can take protein powder as a post-workout shake or snack for a quick energy boost and to replenish those exhausted muscles with rewarding protein reward. 

Which plant-based proteins are gluten-free?

Soy protein, pea protein, hemp protein, brown rice protein, and sunflower seed protein are all gluten-free alternatives to whey or egg proteins. These proteins provide essential amino acids that support post-workout muscle recovery, but contain fewer calories than whey or egg proteins.

For more information or to shop for KOS products, click here.